You might see this term on your Global Wallet® statement. It’s a standard process that’s used across credit, debit and prepaid cards. Authorisation hold (also card authorisation, preauthorisation, or preauth) is when a company verifies a card transaction by holding this amount of money, either until they’re able to clear the transaction (this is called ‘settlement’) or the hold ‘falls off’ (this is usually up to 30 days later).
Once an authorisation hold falls off the account, that amount is no longer held and is available again.
If the company doesn’t process the final transaction against the original authorisation held, then a new debit will appear. The original authorisation will still appear on your account until that company lets us know that the transaction has cleared or until the hold falls off the account.